December 2nd 2022

I turned 18 a few days ago;

It's strange. I don't know how I feel about it. I haven't really celebrated too much so I don't feel much different.

But update over the past few weeks I got rejected from my preferenced Uni Course D:
But stubborn me, I really wanna study there still, so I'm currently scrambling to find a different course I could apply for, and hopefully from there, shimmy my way back into the Bachelors of Animation. But it's going to be a hectic few weeks until I find out where I end up studying.

I am a bit bummed about losing the spot at my dream UNI, but also like theres still time to figure things out so I'm not gonna sulk.


Update on the Walkman;

Replaced the belt and it works :D

But the motor spins way too fast and I don't know how to fix it...

Looking at service manuals, there should be a speed control on the circuit board through a hole (as shown bellow), but it doesn't do anything. And the speed dial you can see on it's front is also broke (i kinda mangled the ribbon cable)


I'll keep it as is for the novelty, but I already have something in mind to actually play casettes so I'm not bummed this didn't work out perfectly


Last diary I showed the beginnings of my Astro Morpher project.


Paper reference of my Astro Morpher Astro Morpher screenshot from show

I started working on the elctronics and so far have an arduino nano that can play sounds into a small speaker.


Arduino Breadboard Prototype

Currently I'm wating on an OLED screen and a keypad matrix so I can start programming the rest of the toy

I'm hoping that programming that junk goes smoothly and then it will be a case of then rigging clock electronics and code, then a battery, and then adjusting the case to fit everything and 3D print for painting and final assembly.